page contents
Connect with us


Galway Softball League

It’s been a great year for Galway Softball, we have over doubled our squad which has made it possible to have the first-ever Galway League since the club was set up in 1998. 

Galway Softball league will commence with a test week on the 21st of June,  the league will start on the 28th of June. All games will be played at St Marys College between 6 pm and 8 pm on Mondays.

Huge thanks to our four-team sponsors An Púcán, Kennys Bookshop,, Megadale Automation & Electrical Mechanical Controls

Teams – turn to side to see all five teams on mobile 

An Púcán
BaseInvaders (A)
Kennys Bookshop
Hardbacks (B)
Hit Squad (C)
AquaBlasters (D)
Hammers (E)
Captain Vincent McGrane Eoin Wood (P) Michelle Grover (P) Declan Carty (P) Colin O’Halloran
Coach Gavin Mulhall (P) Rory McShane (P) Kirsten Fossum Paul Coombes Will Avery
Team Richard Jeffery (P) Alex Stewart Frank “Jay” Hall (P) Ryan Dennis (P) Breandan_MacGabhann (P)
Rory McGarvey (P) Caoimhin Burke José Henríquez (P) Denise Kelly Jantien Schoenmakers
Abby McConnell Colin Flannery Alison Cusack Greg Mannion Michael O’Connor
Daniel Sajfert Marta Straková Byron O’Malley Hugh Cuddy Mark Meyler
Johanna Cusack Jessie Pereira Cathal Creaven Darragh O Sullivan Steven Barrins
Jacinta Kelly Joe Naughton Lee Tuimauga Lisa Fox Martin Sharkey
Louise Pierce Martin Ken Glennon James Reilly Michelle Britton Anna Fogarty
Marco Morales Lorna Mc Cann Nathan Treacher Roshan Kelsey Longe
Neenu Boban Orla Conroy Nicola Cimber Susanne Lally Matthew Nichols
Niall Gallagher Sam Iredale Patrick Costello Tara Browne Aisleen Clarke
Patrick Killilea Tomás Kenny Tim Singiser Terry Mannion Yvonne Falvey
Sean Kennedy Aodan Cummins Caitríona Carty Ray Hewitt Sarah Geoghegan
Rebecca Winkler Mary Pereira Pauline Reilly Kelvin Almanzaralmonte Conor O’Flaherty

(P) Pitcher

*Team placements subject to change at short notice



The final on the 30-Aug-21 will be between the top two scoring teams and the bottom two scoring teams.


Standard WBSC rules and SI regulations apply with the following exceptions.

  1. Minimum required gender split of 6 – 4 male-female does not apply.
    • If available, a minimum of 3 female players must be fielded & batted. If less than 4 they should play infield position before outfield positions.
    • Alternating Male Female at bat still applies at the start of the order.
  2. A Home run rule is being implemented
    • A home run line will be marked at 83.8m (275′) from the home plate, if the ball lands beyond this line it is an automatic home run.
    • Each player will be allowed only one home run by hitting over the home run line per game, hits after this will only award a single. Runners already on the field can only advance if forced.
    • A ball landing before the homerun line which rolls over is still in play as normal.
  3. Points will be awarded as follows
    • 5 Points for winning
    • 3 Points for drawing
    • 2 Points for loosing
    • 0 Points for forfeiting
    • If your opponent forfeits the game will be deemed as a win for your team.

Galway softball club has been run out of Galway since 1998. It’s open to men and women of any age and ability, and newcomers are always welcome. We provide all equipment for training just show up any time and give it a go!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Softball